Quit doing that to my Jesus!

Oh, my, I never intended to go this long without new contents. It seems that a post I intended to write, but was never inspired to write, was my roadblock–guess I need to watch out… I was going to write about the subject of Hopewell UMC‘s Consecration Weekend, which took the theme “With You in Spirit” from the story of Elisha’s servant Gehazi’s misdeeds (II Kings 5:19b-27). But the inspiration never came, really.

Instead, I’ve been inspired by a contest the LOGO TV network is running. (For those unfamiliar, LOGO offers programming slanted toward gay, lesbian, homosexual, and related audiences.) The contest is inspired by the recent profound increase in unacceptable treatment of homosexuals, including the recent bullying of a teenage boy at Rutgers University others suspected of being homosexual, which soon led to his suicide. The contest asks contributors to upload 25-second Public Service Announcement (PSA) videos speaking out against the bullying. I’m planning to create a rather simple video submission, one that is likely to represent a voice not often heard in this circle–that of Christian compassion.  My script will be something like:

My name is Allen, and I follow Jesus Christ as my Savior. Jesus taught that whatever you do to any of God’s people, you’re doing to Him. So, please stop hating, bullying, threatening, abusing, and hating on homosexuals—because when you do, you’re hating on my Jesus!

I’ve been thinking a bit more about Jesus’ lesson about the sheep and goats (Matthew 25:31-46), and Jesus’ pronouncement at the end about the goats’ behavior: ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’ It’s stated as the negative, which is very applicable in this situation.  For every time you failed to show love, compassion, a healing heart, a considerate manner, an encouraging character toward a homosexual individual–every time you fail to stop the harsh words and hateful rhetoric, fail to accept and try to understand…you failed to do so with Jesus. It’s a powerful indictment of our behavior in many areas of life, but one that could have life-saving consequences in these and other circumstances.

So, I do hope I manage to put together the PSA submission, and I do hope it gets airtime–both so that the homosexual community can hear an encouraging voice and the Christian community can hear a deserved rebuke.  And so God can get the glory!

About puyman314

I am one of the volunteer worship leaders at Hopewell United Methodist Church in Downingtown, PA, where I've attended since 1973. I was baptized, confirmed, married there...my daughter was baptized and confirmed there...and I GET to be a worship leader there! I work hard at being a useful follower of Jesus Christ, and I try to share what I learn and my passion for worship with others. By day I'm a professional computer geek and 24/7 I'm a husband and father and son and friend.
This entry was posted in Learning, Spiritual Discipline and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quit doing that to my Jesus!

  1. Peggy B says:

    Allan –
    Do it! You’ll save lives, both physical and spiritual. God loves every one of us, and we must all follow His example.

  2. Annette Turner says:

    Allen,
    Again, your blog caused me to pause and think and I again am thankful for the friend I have in you. Good luck in your submission!
    Annette

    • Allen,
      This is beautiful. I’m going to send it to others, and to a good friend who is a Baptist minister.

      Have you sent it as a tweet?

      • allenhumcwl says:

        So glad you checked this out, liked it, and were even motivated to share it! Let’s see, I did tweet and post on Facebook a couple of times when I first published the blog, and I do plan to do the same when I submit the PSA contest entry. But hadn’t done anything more since then–except for a reference to this blog entry in my most recent blog. If you think I should share it further, I’d certainly welcome your thoughts. Blessings to you!

  3. Pingback: Like Finals Week for Christians… | My Ebenezer

  4. When you send it to logos, I’ll retweet. Will people vote on it?

    • allenhumcwl says:

      Not sure if voting is part of it–I’ve refrained from looking at posted submissions until mine is done! Will definitely put out word once I’ve posted. BTW, not sure if you saw but there is an ability to subscribe for email notifications when this blog is updated…

Leave a Reply

